Basic Blueprint Question - locating a goal's position and sharing it between Actors

Hi there,

I’ve recently been trying to learn UE4’s Blueprints to make a prototype of a small game. It’s a puzzler in which you have to guide an actor to a goal volume by moving obstacles out of the way. The problem is I’ve fallen at the first hurdle.

I have a blueprint with a trigger volume acting as the goal who’s location I’m storing as a variable. I want the non playable character on the other side of the map to take that location and head towards it, with the idea that when I get one I can spawn multiple on the fly heading to different goals to make things more hectic. I’m very new to UE4 and have watched alot of videos on casting on youtube but they all either rely on the getting the player character (my pawn is not the player), tracing something very close or overlapping to be able to get a references of other actors.

It seems so basic, am I missing something? How do I get that variable shared to others? People online say I should avoid using the get all actors of class, but it’s the only way I’ve gotten it to work so far.

TLDR: I have a non controllable pawn that needs to take the goal location variable of a trigger volume BP on the other side of the map and I’m stumped.

Any help would be amazing!

You’re right about the performance cost of Get All Actors of Class node. But sometimes it is the best way to get what you want. It just needs to be used sparingly.

In this scenario, you could call it once at the start of the level from a class like Game State or Game Mode that can be accessed from anywhere and then store the goal location in them. Whenever an NPC requires its target location, it can use the Get Game State/Game Mode nodes to access the stored goal location variable instead of using the Get All Actors of Class every time