Basic AI - How Do I Keep up With Outdated BluePrint Tutorials?

Hi all,

I’ve been using Maya/Unreal for a few years now for Character Animation and ArchViz. Love the engine, love the community, love the endless possibilities. I’m competent on the visual/audio aspects of design, but am hitting a massive wall on the programming side. Specifically, AI bots.

It seems that I get a few hours into a tutorial only to find they are calling functions that don’t exist in the editor. Either because of updates or what-have-you. I try to find what seems like they’re using, but the function breaks down further down the tree for the same reasons (missing outputs, missing options for classes/functions). The only solution I can come up with is installing earlier versions of the engine to practice those functions, but then I lose out on the lighting and rendering options that come with each engine update. Worse still, when I do move over to a later version eventually, how will I carry over what is essentially going to be out-dated knowledge?

I’m reaching out to the community to see if there is a better way to grind through this. I’m not looking for a one-stop solution. I am going to learn Blueprint Scripting. I just want to stop hitting what seem like project-killing roadblocks at every turn. If anyone can help point me in the right direction (even if its “don’t start with AI, go simpler” or “stop using the latest engine all the time”), it would be massively appreciated. I’ve tried everything from the Unreal Docs to forums to in-depth videos.

tl;dr: Can’t get a single AI controller tutorial to work. Tried a few. Functions missing. Am **** at programming.