Automatic Power of 2 Cropping

This is about my first experience working blueprints in Unreal and I’m just getting started with Unreal in general.

In order to efficiently handle mipmaps I understand texture dimensions should be a power of 2. But I have a bunch of pre-existing images that are various sizes. So I am thinking of pulling them all in and using the “pad to power of two” mode on each texture to allow me to then use “SimpleAverage” Mip Gen Settings to generate mipmaps. Then I need to figure out how to properly scale the result to fill the geometry (rectangular) with the original texture size. To do this I am creating a material blueprint like the one below of which I can create many instances to more easily scale each texture to its original size. I am wondering if there is a simpler way to do this or if this is advisable.

My main frustration/concern is in determining the texture’s original dimensions which I currently implemented by just adding two parameters where I’ll have to manually enter the original width and height.

Mipmaps only really become useful when you have a lot of the same texture or very high res textures that are moving with respect the camera. Unless you have this stuff all over the place, the best thing would be to just not worry about it. It wont affect performance.

Does that statement apply to mobile (Quest 2) development?

I’ve never developed for mobile, so can’t be totally sure. But I assume it’s still an optimization thing. Unless there are hundreds of these on billboards all over the level, it’s better to hit an area that’s really loading the system.