Download

Audio Design, River: Whither AmbientSoundSpline?

Hey there!

I’m a student audio designer for a project that has decided to migrate from UDK to Engine 4 and I’m just getting into it. For the most part, there seems to be easy transferring from one to other in my department, and the new attenuation shapes are quite welcome. However, there is a long river in the level for which, in UDK, I used AmbientSoundSpline with my river SoundCue to rather easily and smoothly place the sound along the length of the river. AmbientSoundSpline no longer appears to be a base actor class in 4, which makes sad trombones play in my head. I might start looking at the source for the spline class in UDK and see how to recreate it in 4, but that would take a while, and this is just one project out of many that I’m working on right now, and it is due soon, so time is an issue, and I’m worried about having to correct phasing or curvature problems if it doesn’t work out the same. So, I’m just looking for feedback and suggestions for possible strategies in this case. The simplest one would be to create box- or cone-shaped repeats of the sound following the shape of the river best I can, but, again, possible phasing problems, which is probably the reason AmbientSoundSpline was created for UE3 in the first place: using listener position to calculate which node on the spline should play at any given point to get rid of phasing problems on long or weird shaped sound sources.