Attempting to create Vive VR Pawn in C++

I apologize if this is not the right place to post this, but I’m new to Unreal and haven’t figured out yet if the best place for getting answers regarding C++ is the answers website or this one.

I was reading this: https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Platforms/SteamVR/QuickStart/2/index.html
to understand how to add vive support to a project, with the intention of implementing it in C++ instead of BP.

Mind you that I am new to Unreal so some aspects of its architecture still don’t make complete sense to me (even after reading several docs in the website).

So this is what I did so far (I’m excluding the code to include the HMD lib and controller headers):

UCLASS()
class VRTEST_API AVRPlayer : public APawn
{
	GENERATED_BODY()

public:
	// Sets default values for this pawn's properties
	AVRPlayer();

// Called when the game starts or when spawned
	virtual void BeginPlay() override;

// Called every frame
	virtual void Tick( float DeltaSeconds ) override;

// Called to bind functionality to input
	virtual void SetupPlayerInputComponent(class UInputComponent* InputComponent) override;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		UCameraComponent* camera;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		UShapeComponent* collider;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		class UMotionControllerComponent* leftController;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		UStaticMeshComponent* leftControllerMesh;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		class UMotionControllerComponent* rightController;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		UStaticMeshComponent* rightControllerMesh;
};

<cpp>

AVRPlayer::AVRPlayer() : APawn() {
	PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;
	BaseEyeHeight = 0.;

camera = CreateDefaultSubobject<UCameraComponent>(TEXT("HMD Camera"));
	camera->SetupAttachment(RootComponent);

/*collider = CreateDefaultSubobject<UCapsuleComponent>(TEXT("Collider"));
	collider->SetupAttachment(camera);
*/
	leftController = CreateDefaultSubobject<UMotionControllerComponent>(TEXT("Left Controller"));