Assitance Needed in Creating a Zoom and Look at Item Using Blueprints

Hey guys,

I’m still pretty new to Blueprints but one thing I’m really wanting to learn is how to make items zoom into the players focus, allowing them to take a closer look at the item.

Such as in Gone Home.

If possible could someone help me through creating the blueprint needed for it as I am still very new to it, I’ve been trying to find tutorials on it but I really can’t find anything.

Thanks for any help.

So 's a simple example implementation.

Now I’ve highlighted the important bits in colored boxes. (everything is highlighted!!!)

Green Box - we pass in an inspect object. This could be triggered from anywhere, it doesn’t matter. We’re checking for if we already have an inspect object, because if we do then that reference would be valid. Since it isn’t (hypothetically) we can safely say we don’t have one. We go ahead and set that reference to our new inspect object - now it’s valid. We also store the actor transform.

Yellow/Orange Box - Some will say this shouldn’t be on tick, but this will update the location of our inspect object every frame, along with it’s rotation. We wouldn’t need this if we were going to lock the player in, but I’m imagining the most basic implementation . The red box specifically will be explained lower, but this is a location in front of our camera. Over to the right, we’re adding a rotation to the actor’s world rotation. This will allow you to spin the object around. A more robust implementation might also rotate the object around so that if you just spun the player character around then the object would continue facing the player. To do that, you’d want to store and modify a rotation offset and apply that after you’d calculated the rotation you need to face the player. The blue box will be explained as well.