Assign custom collision profile to Actor

Hello forums,

I’m very new to the Unreal Engine and game programming. I have an AActor class in my project called GameItem, which I’m using for items that the player can interact with (pick up, store in inventory, use, etc.) and I’m having trouble getting it to assign my custom collision channel. I created a new Object Channel called “GameItem” and have it set to Block by default. I then modified my character pawn to always overlap this object channel. So in theory, these game items should collide with everything in the world except my player.

Here is my code in the constructor of my GameItem class:

AGameItem::AGameItem()
{
	PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;

StaticMeshComponent = CreateDefaultSubobject<UStaticMeshComponent>(TEXT("RootComponent"));

StaticMeshComponent->BodyInstance.SetCollisionProfileName("GameItem"); // This part doesn't seem to be working. It should apply the GameItem object channel when the item is created, right?
	StaticMeshComponent->SetWalkableSlopeOverride(FWalkableSlopeOverride(WalkableSlope_Unwalkable, 0.f));
	StaticMeshComponent->CanCharacterStepUpOn = ECB_No;

RootComponent = StaticMeshComponent;
}

What am I missing here?

StaticMeshComponent->BodyInstance.SetCollisionProfileName("GameItem"); // This part doesn't seem to be working. It should apply the GameItem object channel when the item is created, right?

This sets the collision profile of the body instance of the static mesh component to the profile “GameItem”. Usually static meshes are automatically assigned the profile “WorldStatic” or “WorldDynamic”. Other profiles are “Pawn”, “Ragdoll” etc. You can find them all in ProjectSettings->Collision.

You have to setup a custom collision profile named “GameItem” in order for this to work.
Here you set any object with the GameItem Profile’s collision response to other profile. For example, you can set it to collide with the world (WorldStatic) but ignore Pawns.