Asset Import Organization

I’m new to Unreal and can’t figure out how source asset vs. imported asset flow is intended to work.

For example. I have several FBX files that refer to an organized set of textures.

Something along the lines of:

Models
----Walls
--------Straight.fbx
--------Corner.fbx
Textures
----Shared
--------Glossy_S.tga
----Walls
--------Wall_01_D.tga
--------Wall_01_N.tga
--------Baseboards_D.tga
Etc.

I can’t find any way to import this into Unreal and maintain that folder structure. Is this possible? Every import method I’ve tried has placed the texture assets and the material assets into the same folder as the mesh assets. That’s making for a pretty big mess. What’s the intended way for this to work? All the assets import correctly and work, so that’s a plus, it’s just that all of our organization falls apart. If I drag that whole folder structure into Unreal, I end up with copies of textures both in their original locations and in the folder of each FBX file that used them. I assume I’m missing something.

there is the method mentioned in this thread:

easy enough to test

Thanks. I found that one last night sometime, but it doesn’t seem to help. The auto sync seems to behave exactly the same as if I dragged an asset folder into the project in editor. The textures get imported into the texture folder directory structure, but when the FBX files import they make their own texture assets in the same folder as the mesh assets, so I end up with multiple versions of all texture assets. What I expected is some sort of FBX import option that tells it to create (or look for) the texture assets in folders relative to the mesh asset, maintaining the structure that was in the FBX file it imported from.