As a new UE4 Programmer

Hiya!
My name is .

I have been working through learning Unreal now for about 2 months almost full time.
First of all I want to say I love Unreal, especially after working in Unity last year for homework projects.
Unreal is just far more intuitive.

But there is something I have been wrestling with for weeks: collision.
While working in UE4 I have been importing assets through Maya using .fbx files, while the embed files work great the collision is frankly a nightmare.

It took me roughly a week to even figure out what the best importing settings were, and after a great deal of struggle I have figured a work flow for complex objects, but it is still a bear to get anything to function properly in Unreal concerning collision.

I have attempted so many importing styles it would be difficult to even list them all, but the only thing that seems to function consistently is perfectly angled at 90 degree box shapes.

But to add to this issue at any point where boxes overlap ~ no matter the settings on import UE4 creates its own version of what it thinks of my collision boxes. So the workflow to get good collision for any “enterable” spaces such as a house or cave or such is arguous, meticulous box creation. This has become a huge time soak to implement, and I am wondering (hoping really) if I am just doing it flat out wrong.

Now, before I get any responses about how convex collision is the only really functional collision and there is a link to how to import and create collision, I have actually gone through all the collision pages thoroughly in UE4 answers and I know that well. I am also fairly aware of what DOP is etc.

Things I would really like to know…

1. Why is the workflow so arguous and difficult?

2. Why is there advice in several spots on this portal to simply duplicate an object and create a collision object based on the original mesh when in fact this almost never works since most objects are not convex?