Array element age

Hey guys,

I’m at work and trying to wrap my head around building this function.

In my project I have some arrays which I manipulate often, for the most part I just add and remove items from them. What I want to implement is a check to remove an element that has been in the array for, lets say, 60s.

I am fairly new to unreal engine and it’s entirely possible there’s a simple node that does this check, but I wasn’t able to find anything suitable from my initial search online.

P.S. As a compromise I am thinking of building a function to remove i.e. 10% of elements from the begining of the array every 5seconds. The end result will be roughly the same, but ideally I’d want to have it set up properly.

Or limit the array to n elements and when a new element needs to be added to a full array, delete n0.

The last scenario you mentioned can be achieved through something like this:

Just set the value of MaxArraySize variable to be the maximum number of elements that your array can have.

Thanks stormrage! That looks very elegant.

Once I get home, I’ll fiddle around and try to figure out if I can track an elements time spent as part of the array.
It’s good to know I’ll have a backup waiting in case I can’t make it work.

What are you trying to achieve with this?

I thought of a work around to achieve the same result with a different-ish approach. I am about to test it and will post results. Below I will explain my original idea, if you care to read it and job your brain from a minute or two I would appreciate it, since I anticipate my solution to be a bit messy.

Original line of thought:

tl;dr
I want to display the average number of simultaneously active actors of class over the past minute.