Ark Map Idea - Need help building it

i just need help building an Ark map idea that i have had for a long time i am new to the Ark Dev Kit so any pointers?

Don’t make the map gigantic. Make it the same size as the island, and expantions. Aslo make sure to put the bosses in the obolisks. People have forgotten them in a lot of the maps I download.

Here are some pointers I’ve learned from my experience having modded Ark for over two years:

-Maybe a little late, but don’t use the maximum landscape resolution and small section size. See this link for guidelines: https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest…ide/index.html

-install the dev kit on a hardrive or SSD with lots of space (dedicate at least 200 gigs to be safe.) It doesn’t need to be installed in the same place as your ark game install

-preferably a SSD (mines on m.2 SSD!)

-Maximum sublevel filesize is ~2 gigs, but I’ve found that you should keep it below 1.5 at most to avoid issues

-the more landscape layers you paint per component the larger the file size.

-keep your landscape(s) seperate on its own sublevel, this will typically be your largest file.

-do not put anything not required to be in the persistent level in the persistent level. If wildcard breaks something that causes the dev kit to crash or not load your map hopefully the issue isn’t in your persistent level. You can load your sublevels one by one to find out which one is bad and maybe narrow down the problem. I had this issue in my persistent level and had to redo a lot of work. And being forced to redo work is a major demotivator

-speaking of demotivators, the dev kit crashes a lot. Get used to it. Save often. Use the autosave if you can’t remember this!

-all of your water planes and lighting need to be in the same sublevel or persistent level for you to set the correct settings on your water planes