Are we at the mercy of content developers for version updates?

I have been browsing the marketplace and purchasing things here and there.

Now i have come across several items that are not up to date.

One specific item i have been keeping track of to see if it gets updated. In the comments the devs comments that the update is coming next week. That comment is now 4 weeks old.
Another item i found was not updated beyond 4.8.

This has gotten me worried.

• Is there nothing that guarantees version updates?
  • Can marketplace items just get abandoned?
  • And you are just out of luck if you have purchased a specific item and it no longer has dev support?

I cannot give you an official reply, but as a content developer, I can say that Epic rules as I understand them are that the content should be compatible with the current and previous version of the engine. When a new version of the engine is released (or nearing release), we are supposed to test our content with it and submit updates if needed. It is stated that the content somewhere in the guidelines can be taken down if the content is not working in a newly released version (I seem to remember within 10 days).

So there’s nothing that really guarantees version updates because Epic can only control availability on the marketplace - the content developers are all independent unless it is an actual Epic item. Therefore, items could be abandoned, though they should eventually fall off the marketplace and, if you buy one that you find isn’t working, you can contact Epic about it to resolve the issue. Your best bet if you have doubts is to contact the content developer of something you are interested in.