Are non-capsule root components completely unsupported in UE4?

Note: I originally asked this question on the AnswerHub, but the forums might be a more appropriate place.

I’m totally new to the Unreal Engine way of things, but I do know that I’d like to make a 2.5D platformer game, and that I want to use a box for collision instead of a capsule due to literal edge cases (try walking off an edge in the side scroller tutorial; instead of falling, you’ll keep walking off the edge until the MyCharacterBP object runs out of curves to use to “stand up”).

After investigating the code a bit, I found that I would have to roll my own version of Character in order to replace the Capsule as a root component. Specifically, I copied and pasted the code, making a few adjustments here and there to account for the differences in the functionality between CapsuleComponents and BoxComponents. This initially caused a lot of issues with redefined code, which I solved by removing the offending code for now, but the current issue is that UE4 only seems to consider CapsuleComponents to be valid root components for actors. This seems really strange, but seems to be implied by the following lines of code in the engine:

LevelActor.cpp, line 667:

// currently just tests RootComponent.  @TODO FIXME should test all colliding components?  Cost/benefit?
UPrimitiveComponent* PrimComp = TestActor ? Cast<UPrimitiveComponent>(TestActor->GetRootComponent()) : NULL;

line 680:

// @TODO support more than just capsules for spawning, don't yet have - add primitive component function to calculate these, use boundingbox as fallback
UCapsuleComponent* Capsule = Cast<UCapsuleComponent>(PrimComp);