ArchViz modeling in LightWave Collision Issues in UE4

I have been a long time ArchViz artist and want to play around with UE4. I have seen some very nice real time archviz scenes around the internet. I’m having trouble getting my models into UE and getting the correct collisions to work.

I want to be able to import my model and then add furniture and other assets in UE. When I do this however I can never go “inside” the model in UE. If I set the collision to nothing of course I fall through everything.

Do I have do model each wall/floor/ceiling and import/layout inside UE for this to work properly? Please tell me no!!! :slight_smile:

Take a look at this video: :slight_smile:

Yes that is good info. Thanks. If I’m doing an interior model let’s say a ROOM. This method will add a collision model around the room so that I cannot enter the room. That has been my struggle so far. Any thoughts in that situation anyone?

You will have to use one of the upper showed ways:

1. either you add collision boxes (UCX) in your 3d program -> every side of the room needs a collision box. When you just copy and past the mesh, it will create one around the entire model
  2. you add collision boxes in the ue4 -> with the newer engine versions you can add several collision boxes + you can move the
  3. use “use complex as simple” -> not so good for the performance (but with basic objects you wont see a big difference)

When you do your collision outside of the UE4, you will have to make sure that you disable “use one convex hull per…” + “auto generate collision” in the import settings :slight_smile:

It seems now matter what I do I get a “shrink wrap” collision around my room…so I can’t go inside it? I have a layer that has individual boxes for each wall ceiling and floor to be used as collision. Either that’s not being used or I’m doing something wrong. Hmmm…