Architecture Question - APlayerCharacter & APlayerController

I’ve been working with Unreal for 3-4 months now and feel like I’m starting to wrap my head around it pretty well, or at least the core parts of it — there are large parts of the engine I haven’t even tried to use yet.

But, there is one high-level thing I’m having trouble understanding. I understand the difference between Pawns/Characters and Controllers, and it’s a great design. What I don’t understand is why input handling code is in [FONT=Courier New]APawn and its descendents.

The Unreal 4 Architecture documentation describes the Player Character this way:

A PlayerController is the interface between the Pawn and the human player controlling it. The PlayerController essentially represents the human player’s will.

Based on reading this, and knowing that the Pawn/Character is supposed to be “dumb”, I would have assumed that player input would be handled by the [FONT=Courier New]APlayerCharacter subclass. The input is how the player expresses their “will” that they want the character to enact. But, [FONT=Courier New]APawn has a method specifically for setting up input and all the sample code and tutorials use that class. It is clearly the Unreal Way of doing things to handle input in the pawn or character.

It’s not really important in the grand scheme of things, and I plan to do it the Unreal Way, but I feel like I must be misunderstanding the exact nature of these two classes and their relationship with each other. Based on my understanding, input handling seems like a natural fit for the player character class not the pawn or character subclass.

I have the exact same question, will be following this thread.

It seems almost against the best programming practices from a UI perspective for example. Where the UI shouldn’t know anything about the code underneath it that drives it. This loose coupling makes it easy to replace components at a later date easily.