Architecture Advice UE4

Hi there everyone. Im very new to UE4.

Im planing on creating an office structure in UE4.
Now i have to ideas here.

1. I could block out the simple structure with BSP and then add aditional details later from a 3D application.
    1. I could model the entire thing within the 3D App and then export.

Option 2 seems like a good one to me, but how do i create it in a way that i could apply different materials to the inside and outside of the model. So for instance, how would i have a brick materials on the out side and a paint material on the inside ?

Are there any other Steps that im missing or are there any other, better practices i should try ?

Thanks so much.

I would model it in a 3D app. Just assign a place holder color in your 3D app. like color blue for glass, red for brick, white for interior walls. You’ll need to uv map and lightmap everything then import to UE4.

I agree with RI3DVIZ. Building the model directly in the modeling program will save a lot of time, and there aren’t any upsides to using BSPs as far as I can see. As he said, just apply super simple single color materials to the different parts of the model you with to have different materials in the engine. This is quick and easy to do in 3ds Max.

I often block my levels in Unreal using a 1x1m cube mesh that I resize as needed. When I get a decent blockout, I select the objects I want to export, then file | export selected. I save it as and fbx, which I then open in Maya and do the proper modeling there. This is a fairly quick way to build stuff and it’s not too complex.

Thanks everyone for the reply.

So i see what you mean with the modeling process in the 3D app then export. Because it would all be seperat pieces anyway.
I also like the BSp and export process so you can get a simple layout and then export into your 3D app and then add further detail there.

What about the modular method ?