Architectural Visualization (HELP!!!)

Hi, I am very new to UE4, and I love what I know about it so far. I strongly need help with architectural visualization though. I don’t understand all of this “Lightmass” stuff, and different light settings. I see some people have different settings as I do, but I have no idea how to get access to those settings. I have a feeling its the version of Unreal I am using. I use 4.10.4, 4.9.2 and 4.0.2. I don’t know if it matters either. Also, I want to know how to change the time of my sky (sun positioning) but I don’t know how. Basically, I just need ALOT of help and explaining with lighting.

I don’t know why you would use 3 outdated versions of the same engine to start with. Just upgrade to the latest (4.11.2) so you have all the newest features available to start with!

This is a good place to start for lighting architecture. https://ue4arch.com/ue4archs-unreal-engine-4-lighting-workflow-part-1/

Thanks for sending me this article! I read it and it helped my understanding with lights a bit more, but I’m still confused where to find some of these parameters such as ‘BaseLightmass.ini’ and how to find it. Also, I don’t know where to find “LightMapSize” or “NumHemisphereSample.” Again, thanks so much for the article, it helps a bunch!

I would get a better grasp on the engine before messing around with the *.ini file. Do some beginner tutorials, find out where everything is, etc.

The .ini tweaks are only helpful once a project is basically finished and you want to tweak the results a bit. The ini files are text files that you have to edit that are in the project folders. Those tweaks are not required to get good results with the engine.

I thought all that .ini tweak stuff is basically obsolete as of 4.11?

It pretty much is. We’re now talking about tweaking build times - which is still long using the standard .ini config.