Applying materials without it being stretched

Hello, i’m new to UE4. I have had some experience with GTKRadiant and Hammer editor but since they are kinda old I went to try this new amazing editor.

I have some questions however.

I have made a static mesh (I think I always knew it as brush) and I figured out how to apply a texture/material on it. However, it is always stretched. Is there a way to apply a material but that it ignores the static mesh? I just want the material scaled to the material itself not to the mesh.

In other words: How to prevent the material from stretching if you resize the static mesh?

Thanks

It depends on what you use:

-static mesh -> make sure that you use a correct uv map
-bsp -> in the details panel you can find a button that is called “alignment”. There you have to choose something (e.g planar) + dont scale the brush, it’s better when you move the vertices in the bsp edit mode :slight_smile:

I think I just use Basic > Cube for the walls. I tried making a new map but now I am just editing the default first person map.

I dragged and dropped the grass material on the floor and I noticed it is stretched (same for the walls btw). How exactly do I make it ignore the stretch of the brush/mesh? So the material/texture keeps being at a 1:1 scale no matter how I drag it later on?

Thanks and sorry for the noobish-question, it’s probably gonna take a while before I get used to this editor.

://i.imgur/7qCVwR6.jpg

Ah, your are using meshes.
Then you have to modify the material -> in the material add a texture coordinate node and connect it with the UV from the texture sample. Now you can scale it so that it’s not strechted anymore.
But I personally would recommend you to not scale meshes into just one direction as it will strech the texture.
The material on the floor looks correct -> it’s just a little bit too large = use a texture coordinate node :slight_smile: