Download

Anyone have any knowledge on modular level design?

Hey

I want to build a fairly large and complex environment for my current project. I would like to build out a kit of reusable 3d assets that I can clip together to put buildings, decor etc together.

I have read the bethesda presentation on this school of thought but I had a little trouble following it. I am an experienced programmer but am really doing this project to become familiar with 3D development so I am fairly limited by my own lack of knowledge on the topic.

If anyone can help with letting me know how I might go about putting together a “kit” of sorts for my environments, that would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance.

I can help more if I had specifics, like what type of gameplay and environment you are thinking of. Feel free to reference other games for comparison.

A general approach I would take is to identify what assets are going to make up the bulk of your environment and tackle them first. Start with developing a small area that represents the larger scope in your game. For example, if were developing a game that took place in a futuristic city, I would not start by making a massive city. I would make one block or street instead.

Inside this scene, it would break it down to common elements that I can reuse to construct a city. While you are doing this, your first time should be spent on the things that affect gameplay. For our hypothetical game, lets say its GTA on a Mars in the year 3000.