Any way to possibly retrieve tessellation?

Title. I want to be able to add extra polys to a surface, offsetting with the flexibility with tesselation, not being stuck with nanite, which is absolutely useless when it comes to procedural detail.

I did see this:

So maybe it’s already possible? (unless that’s a custom solution).

I will have to look further.

There is also a way, using the modeling plugins. in UE 5

I’m no expert in this whatsoever, but I have a suspicion that epic is withholding tessellation to force people into using nanite for the preview version. And they will bring it back on the actual release. Just to get people using it and getting feedback on issues regarding it.
The reason why I think this is because you can turn nanite on/off. Plus it will be stupid to scratch such an important element.

2 Likes

Hi @Bits360,

I am no expert in tessellation. I looked at the UE5EA code and saw that the code for displaying tessellation still exists.
I built a simple tessellation project in UE 4.26. Converted by loading into UE5EA enabled Modelling Editing plugin and looked and the tessellation in the project still exists.

Obviously, this would be cumbersome to do this for every bit of tessellation content as you would need to edit in UE4 and convert to UE5 after every edit.

There is a Nanite video over 2 hours long which briefly say that this future feature in Nanite.
I have no idea how soon the model Editor for UE5 will be complete.

I did try taking the Modelling Editing plugin from UE426 to UE5EA, but it won’t work, there is lots of coding missing in UE5EA.

May I ask Where I can get this “Modeling Editing” plug-in.
thank you.: )
@Jimbohalo10

Hi @PersonaGS
here I have added the Modelling Tools Editor Plugin by the following:-
I have started with a blank project, but you would use your own project converted to UE5EA.

Now Type “Model” in the search bar

Click on the “Enabled” tick box to enable the plugin