Any way to export the UE4 Rigs with the FBX files?

Since the basic characters in the starter projects come with semi-decent starting animations for idle/walk/run/etc, for prototyping my game I would love to just be able to take the existing characters/rigs and add a few animations to the model and import them right in. Problem is it seems when you export the FBX files from UE, it doesn’t give a functional rig.

Is there any way for me to export the actual rigs for these starter characters so I can just start making animations? Or is there a pipeline that would allow me to make animations for any other character and bring it in easily? If possible it would be appreciated to have a character pre-rigged, as I’m primarily a programmer and hate rigging/distributing weights. I rather limit my artwork in Maya to strictly animation itself.

I know UE4 has the Maya ART tools, and I know that may be my best option, but to be completely honest I’m holding out on it if possible as I’d rather become fully comfortable w/ all the tools in the engine itself before I start learning more art tools. It seems the tools are best for creating new rigs for existing models, but I don’t know if they actually have anything for helping me transfer animations to these existing rigs, and/or allowing me to recover the rigs from the FBX files.

Any sort of pipeline would be appreciated. Thanks.

Any advice on this please?

It seems the exports from UE4 have a skeleton in place, but no rig controls. Not sure if theres an easy way to get controls.

Of course I could try to use ART to make a new rig for it… but wouldn’t that replace the skeleton? Or is there a way to just have it make new rig controls for the existing skeleton?

Basically I’m not sure exactly what to do with the model that was exported to be able to work on it myself…

Advice would be appreciated. Thanks.