Any tips for 3D "mario" style level/landscape creation?

Hi all,

I posted this yesteday, but was lost in the forum downtime+data loss situation, so I shall post again! :slight_smile:

I am a beginner to UE4, although not a complete beginner to programming and games development in general. I have spent the last couple of weeks watching all the official tutorial videos on youtube, and reading through the documentation, but the time has come where I want to get my hands dirty and actually attempt to make something cool.

So, I thought I would start by attempting to create some ā€œMarioā€ inspired landscapes, the kind of thing I am talking about demonstrated well in the picture below:

Eg. so imagine fairly simple geometry, lots of rolling hills, bright cartoon shading + textures etc.

I suppose I am really looking for some pointers, so that I do not head off in completely the wrong direction. In my head, I have the following type of workfllow planned:

• model individual ā€œpartsā€ of landscape in 3d modelling software, including: add materials and textures + define uvā€™s etc
  • import meshes + materials into UE4 as fbx files
  • then literally drag and drop inside UE4 editor to combine/mix and match all the various meshes to form a complete level landscape

Would I be better off using the inbuilt UE4 terrain tools for any of this? They didnā€™t really seem suited to this type of ā€œMarioā€ inspired level design (ie. they seems more appropriate for large, realistic open world landscapes instead, which is not what I am aiming forā€¦).

Anyway, any tips or advice much appreciated.

Thanks.

I believe there is no connection between landscape tool and level design like this.
I see a lot of different blocks, nothing more.
Maybe you can use landscape as a canvas for placing meshes, but definetely not like casual landscape