Any fellow developers on Mac?

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to Unreal, I did subscribe a few months ago but haven’t really gotten around to using it much yet. I am on a Mac and have been able to get surprisingly good performance from Unreal, despite only having an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M with 512 MB for a graphics card, although I am currently looking into getting a proper gaming PC so that I can really push the awesome stuff that Unreal can do!

I was just wondering if anybody else here on these forums also plays around with Unreal on a Mac?

If so, feel free to share the settings you have found that are best for getting great performance on your system. I’ve found I can actually leave most of the post-processing effects on, and have full anti-aliasing on and still get great performance, as long as I set shadows to medium and shut off that “Grain” filter. Also disabling the “realtime” option in the viewport while editing levels makes a huge difference!

I have a feeling I’d get better performance still if my resolution wasn’t 2560x1440. :stuck_out_tongue:

I have a MacBook Air. But the graphics card Intel HD 3000 is not supported. So I can’t do any dev on it. :frowning:

Pretty happy with it on iMac and Older . It’s certainly not as good as on Windows but the improvement from 4.0 to 4.4 have been pretty amazing. I tend to leave mine on full settings and just put up with it.

No kidding, I just upgraded to 4.4 and I can’t believe the improvements in performance! Not only was the editor running much faster (and crashed far less often), but the game ran almost completely fine in its own window, too! Although it did stutter a bit when I had more than 3 or 4 realtime lights in one area.

Aw man, that sucks. :confused: Well if you do get another Mac for development at some point, rest assured that an iMac has surprisingly good performance!

There are more improvements to come in 4.5, though they are likely to be subtle & very dependent upon the scene.