Any C++ error causes editor to crash

Any error made in c++ crash the editor all the time and it keeps crashing on startup until I fix the error and recompile the code outside the editor
The first time I encountered crashed is when I had called InputComponent->BindAction in the component’s ctor and it had thrown an error and the editor crashed until I moved it in SetupPlayerInputComponent
The second time is when I dereferenced pointer type that had null value

I’m new to UE4 and it is ok to miss something editor-specific in C++ API (like InputComponent->BindAction inside a specific method) but it is weird that the entire editor crashes.
Previously, I used Unity and it shows runtime errors without crashing and I thought UE4 does the same.
Is everyone really develop with that accuracy that their code never fails on the first try?

1 Like

If you are c++ code writer, you need to check 3 stuff always,

• Is your code easy to understand?
  • Can you test your code?
  • Can you handle all errors?

The only reason editor crash is nullptr please check if you handle null pointer errors. Always keep track your pointers. To solve that, you can always read error stack, it will show line and file…

Hi! From my experience the most often case - just nullptr pointer. Just check out that all pointers are set and are ok.

I agree that we can check all the time the code of ours but even good programmers aren’t gods and make errors
I hoped the community has a much more convenient way to deal with it. It is sad

1 Like

The thing is Unreal always blows up when nullptr :slight_smile: At the crash report you will see the proper place where you have nullptr. So great programmers also need to good read on their logs and dont misunderstand advices :slight_smile: Its just an advice, dont get offended.

Edit: ■■■■, I guess I just responded to year old question, because it was on the top