[Answered] Code templates on XCode

Is it just me or when you go to “New Project” and select a Code template (e.g. Code Top Down) and create it, the XCode project is badly configured in a way that it doesn’t even run?

I tried running on the Mac and it didn’t start, saying “SBTarget is invalid”. As my intention is not to develop for desktops for now, I ignored that and went for what I wanted: iOS deployments.

I already have the Apple Developer account, and I have a few years of iOS Dev experience, so I know how iOS and XCode usually work. I’ve set up the developer provisioning profile and code signing identity. When I build & run the project on my iPhone 4S, Xcode installs the game on the device and runs it. So far so good.

But then, right after the default splash screen shows up, I get an alert saying “Failed to open descriptor file …/…/…/ (PROJECT_NAME) / (PROJECT_NAME).uproject” and the screen stays black forever.

I’ve tried waiting for several minutes, and nothing shows up. When debugging through USB, the game usually crashes. The console shows:

2014-03-20 00:45:37.005 TopDownCpp[2673:60b] No ue4commandline.txt [/var/mobile/Applications/A284EF19-C5F7-4CD0-93B5-5FAEC947B792/TopDownCpp.app/ue4commandline.txt] found

2014-03-20 00:45:37.011 TopDownCpp[2673:60b] Combined iOS Commandline:

========= This app is in LANDSCAPE mode

2014-03-20 00:45:41.905 TopDownCpp[2673:3c03] Initializing ULD Communications in game mode

Also, I’ve noticed that when you go to “Edit scheme…”, there is a missing target called _( PROJECT_NAME)RunIOS. That could be related to the issue, but I can’t confirm that.

Did anybody get these templates working on XCode? Or even, do these templates work on Visual Studio on the Windows version?

Thanks!

I was able to reproduce this with the Topdown code project. Apologize for the inconvenience but I was able to find a workaround until we resolve this issue.

1. Build your ProjectEditor in Development
  2. Select Launch from Unreal Launcher