Animation not rotating or translating

I’m using unreal engine 4.21.2, and any animation that I import doesn’t work properly. The character doesn’t rotate or translate. All of the bones move how they should but for some reason the whole character doesn’t rotate or translate (Is it to do with the root?). I’m fairly new to Game Development (I’m only 14 yrs old) so any help is appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

It depends if you’ve set animation keys on the root transform such as if the root is animated to location 0,0,0.

I don’t know what you mean by that. Here’s a screenshot of the settings, is it something to do with the root motion section?

Is the imported mesh assigned as the mesh on a character pawn? The pawn should handle the general movement and the animation should be only moving the skeleton of the mesh. The imported animation doesn’t need to have any keys referring to the root of the mesh.

That’s strange, maybe there’s something I’m overlooking but it’s like it’s being animated from the root but unreal is ignoring it? The only thing I can think of is to reparent everything to a new root in maya, that way only children are animated when imported into unreal.

I have uploaded 2 videos to youtube so that you can see what is going on. the first one is what happens in unreal engine, and the second is how it looks on mixamo (I have also tested that it works fine in maya). The mesh is assigned to a pawn, but I don’t think that matters. Thanks for your help!

link text
[link text][2]

Eek! How on earth do I do that? I’ve never actually used maya, I just kinda have it to preview animations in case unreal does stupid things like this. it’s never happened to me before, but could it be because the animation was in .fbx format? maybe unreal doesn’t like fbx animations. I just don’t know.

“maybe there’s something I’m overlooking” Yep, I missed that EnableRootMotion was false and it needs to be true.