Animation basics. Help me understand the UE Animation system

Hi all
I have a very limited prior knowledge of animations (ie. I understand how to create them in Maya, export to FBX, use Mixamo and in Unity some years ago I was able to create some fairly complicated character animation setups.

I’m using Unreal now of course, and just starting to look through documentation and tutorial projects. The one I’m looking at right now is the ‘Third Person’ example project built into Unreal. I am looking at the Mannequin>Third Person AnimBP:

Is all of this BP just there to set the “Speed” and “IsInAir” variables? And if so, could anyone point me towards the relevant part of the C++ API where these functions are found. It seems this BP is unnecessary to me (perhaps I am wrong, I am still learning).

EDIT: To be a little bit clearer. If for example I have an NPC character. And I just want him to have two animations (idle and waving). There should be an easy way in code to switch between the two animation states.

Your help here could save me weeks of messing around doing things the wrong way.

Thanks for reading :smiley:

You can’t change states from code.
Epic keeps the SetState() function private.

What you can do is create variables like ’ IsInAir ’ and change them from c++.
Then the state machine in animation should evaluate that variable and change state from there.

2 Likes

Ok thank you for the insight. I thought I would be able to do that.
I now have a starting point will try to figure out all this blueprint stuff then.

I feel really dumb. But I have analysed this AnimBP (as pictured in question) for a while now, and in all three pages I don’t see any reference the specific Animation Sequences.

The entire thing seems to determine if the player is grounded, and then set the two variables.

Within ‘Details’ of the actual player blueprint instance in the level, I see it is set to “Use Anim blueprint” with that AnimBP attached.