Animating car using timeline

Hi,

I am trying to animate a car for a simulation. Precisely, I need the car to move from point A to point B - possibly following a given path and at a certain speed, maybe using a spline? - and decelerate to eventually stop when reaching point B (at a given distance from point B e.g. 6 meters). When the car stops or is about to, a light that is attached to it should start pulsing for a few seconds and the stop when the car starts moving again to finally reach its last destination, point C. All this would be within a specific timeframe.

I am quite new to UE and I was wondering what the best approach to do that would be? Is a using a timeline a good way to go about this and what would be the best way to set it up? I managed to have my car following a spline but I am not quite sure how I can adjust its speed and deceleration over time. I was suggested to use a trigger box to control the deceleration but I have no idea what a blueprint for this would look like and how to link this to the actor I have created for the car.

I am also having issues setting up the car, and I could not find any tutorials that explain how to configure a vehicle that is not for driving but is just part of the environment so any advice regarding this is also very much welcomed.

I hope this makes sense - I have attached a diagram of what the animation would look like for reference - and thanks for your help!! :blush:

The best approach depends on what the end goal is…

A video?
You need to repeat the behavior over and over. So you can either record with take record ler as you personally drive, or combine the spline movement to a take recording.

In game live cinematic?
A spline.

Move along spline is easy. You’ll find billions of solutions and tutorials on it.

Configuring a vehicle isn’t. Especially not now with chaos…

In fact, if you have no need for physics, forget chaos or physx and just use the spline system.