Animated vehicle drives left and right not forward how come?

Check that the script is changing the Z axis instead of the X axis

Okay, so I rigged my vehicle up and made all of the blueprints etc. But when I press play and I drive forward it drives to the left and when I drive backwards it drives to the right. Why is this happening? My vehicle is facing the ‘X’ axis and I have checked the input and everything looks fine it just drives left and right. The animations play fine too.

Anyone know?

Thanks!

Were is the script located at? Sorry, I’m a bit new to UE4 and animating. Thanks for your time :wink:

It should be in the event graph for the vehicle

Sorry, I still cant find were it would be in the event graph. Could you provide me a screen shot or a specific location of were the option is? Thanks! :slight_smile:

Well what script do you have currently?

I’m currently using a Blueprint script I do not use c++ I’m new to UE4 so I don’t know a lick about codeing lol. I have a Input axis forward that has a W key set to 1.0 and a S key set to -1.0. I then have a Right Input that’s controls the left/right right 1.0 and left is -1.0.

I would need to see a screenshot to understand where thing are going wrong.

I’d recommend taking a look at the vehicle template project. This is the script used in it - http://prntscr.com/bfi130

This is my script.

And thats the Anim Graph.

Oh you are doing it trough animation. I’m not 100% sure what you are targeting there. If you are targeting based on rotation make sure you are targeting pitch. I’m more of a programmer than an animator so I’m not sure how or if that method would work

Judging by the demo project you still need to program the cars movement. You can’t rely on animation

Check what axis your vehicle is aligned in your 3D program. The mesh needs to be aligned towards the positive X axis (i.e. the head lights look towards +X and the tail lights towards -X).