Animate multiple objects along spline (conveyor belt)

I am currently working on a project that requires a conveyor belt. What I need is to have 4 objects (lets say a cube, sphere, cylinder and pyramid) to be spawned and moved along a spline.

So far I have been able to animate 1 object along a spline using this tutorial: How To Make An Object Follow A Spline Path - Unreal Engine Tutorial - YouTube

However, I need a lot of objects so adding in hundreds of copies of the objects and then giving each a custom offset takes a lot of time, and is not very scalable.

Is there a smart way of setting this up?

Ideally I would have 1 spline and 4 objects that will randomly spawn on the curve and move along it until the end and then loop (or not as long as the animation is continuous) and I would have control over the speed the whole animation is moving, as well as the spacing between objects. I’m quite new to unreal and would love for a simplistic explaination if at all possible.

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Edit: It doesn’t need any physics and needs to be setup without. Also, Niagara is not possible due to the nature of the project.

1 Like

Hi! This is a possible solution :smiley:
Result:
ObjectsMoving

First, I’ve created some blueprint actors for the objects. They are all children from the same actor blueprint in order to get the same code for all in one place.

BP_Object:

• SplinePath is a SplineComponent
  • MoveObject is simmilar from the video. In this case, instead of the lerp, a multiplication is all what we need (due to the alpha works like a percentaje) but before doing it we add the offset to the alpha and get it’s fraction so it can loop when it reaches 100%
  • AlphaTimeLine is the same from the video
  • If you want this working with Duration (like the video) instead of Speed, do this change:
    From
    To

BP_SplinePath:
This blueprint is the same from the video but with some code in it.
Components and variables
imageimage

Code