Download

Android performance in the future (and on older devices)

Hey guys,
I know, I know, I’m probably gonna **** everybody off by starting the same thing AGAIN (there are 1000 threads about how poor UE4 performs on mobile platforms) and I read them.
I’m pretty new to the mobile part of UE4 and so far I’ve basically heard that it’s got better already (overall). Yet I wasn’t satisfied on the first try (and after optimizations) and tried some other X-Platform Engines, but I was disappointed instantly, every time (not even by the performance of those engines, but interfaces and stuff, UE4 is just way more comfortable). I’m probably too much into UE4 right now and I would be so sad if I had to use another engine. But in order to keep using it for mobile development, I’d like to know if (and when) there are going to be more performance patches (targetted on mobile platforms). I’m pretty sure there are gonna be those patces, but is that a “let’s-see-about-it-in-2015-thing” on the priority list or more like “we-do-what-we-can-to-fix-that-asap”?
I would even be satisfied with smooth / high fps on an older device on a pure 2d project with billboards and only static lighting (like Tappy Chicken f.e.). I know UE4 is a next-gen-engine, but even then it should be able to do those “easy” things as efficient as older engines, right?
Or does Epic just wait for everybody to have a (for now) next-gen mobile phone that fits the requirements of the UE4? (Rhetorical question, of course they don’t just do that, but what sort of performance improvement can I expect for the “near” future (3 months?))
All I want to hear is that it’s gonna be done somewhat soon, I was so sad and disappointed when I deployed my first app (ever) on my phone and it was so laggy, but I really want to keep using UE4 :frowning: