Android MIDI input and output?

Hi, I’m currently testing out some platforms and engines for a project idea. I’m very new to Unreal Engine, but have always been curious about it and all that it offers.

I want to know if anyone here has experience with creating Unreal apps for Android that use MIDI input and output. I have been able to get input and output going on a desktop build, which is great for my purposes. When trying to launch for Android, the app crashes immediately. When I remove MIDI functionality, it runs fine.

I didn’t see any immediate resources for my problems, but more than that- I haven’t really come across any examples of this happening at all. So I wanted to come here and confirm: can Unreal Android builds use the MIDI plugin? Have you used it successfully?

Any wisdom on Android MIDI (or iOS MIDI as well for that matter) is greatly appreciated.

Hey dombarrett,

There used to be a plugin called, Procedural Midi by Scott Bishel, I don’t know though if this was for Windows only though.
It doesn’t appear on the marketplace anymore, however, I have the plugin if you can’t find it.

All the best,

Smudgy

1 Like

Thanks Smudgy- I managed to find it. I was able to get the plugin from the Github repo and download the example project from the plugin page.

It works on Windows, however, I wasn’t able to get it to work on Android. It did manage to compile and run on my android device, though. So thats progress. However, it didn’t seem to see any valid MIDI destinations- ones that multiple other apps were able to see.

I’ll try trouble shooting a few different options here but I’m not optimistic. Thanks for the lead though. If anyone manages to get this, or any type of MIDI Out, to work on Android- any help is greatly appreciated.

No worries, dombarret.

I’m glad you got one step further anyway.