Alturntive tool -- Level design

I love the capability of the engine itself… I actually like the blueprint system and I am tolerant of the persona system. I have made 3 games from the ground up (another words wrote the engine (with help I was a professional game dev) Built the tools and even the network engine on a mmorpg. I have used all kinds of game development world tool sets/editors. There are so many great things in this engine that I do not want to go to another product, plus I have access to the code which if you didn’t know up until now was unheard of for a current version anything involved in gaming… IT is sweet…

Now the actual landscape editor is about 3 generations behind even opensource world building platforms. OH the actual abilities of the landscape engine stand above just about everything out there. But I have been working with UE for a month now and I have nothing to show for my work. Partly because I was learning (I have no experience with UR (I haven’t even played tournament since unreal the first one). I used the UDK for a day and switched back to a project I was working on building a toolset for Ogre. So the learning curve is steep. However After reading about the terrain tools in the documentation, watching a few really simple tutorials on (that give absolutely no information) I am still left wondering why things happen like entire chunks of my terrain turn black, Sometimes the sample content tree and bush also get black boxes around them that stretch along the shader even though the engine did not warn me I have overlapping UV’s. BTW once the foliage tool went wrong and I had a “OH THAT ISN’T GOOD” moment I could not correct it loosing the entire map. I read that it was a alpha issue so I tried to correct that as suggested to no avail… I have had so many problems with the terrain editor INCLUDING REBUILDING shaders every time I apply a new layer even though I have lit off (which I know isn’t really off just not showing)…