AENiGMA GAME: STORM HACKER - A Dreamcast-era Inspired Parkour Hover-Ski Adventure Across a Hand-Painted Universe!

Hey there, I am bit nervous to show this off as I am new to solo dev but here is an early look at a game I started as a way to get better at my day job as concept artist by understanding all the roles that go into development but has since grown into something of a loveletter to the dreamcast/ps2/xbox/gc era of games.

The artwork is based on my own paintings I have done through out my life which are mainly inspired by classic anime OVA’s, old master paintings, heavy metal magazine, and travel when I have an opportunity to.

I will keep sharing here as I develop it!

2 Likes

Hi there @WEZ,

Hope you’re having a great week so far!

Really glad you decided to share this with us. Especially since you’re new to solo dev - the nerves can get to all of us! From what I can see with the trailer, this looks fantastic so far. The artstyle, specifically, is simply phenomenal. The anime inspiration is definitely visible and super memorable! My only complaint is that I wanted to see more :joy:

Thanks again for sharing and I can’t wait to see more development progress updates :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you very much for the welcoming words Panda, that means a lot!

1 Like

My pleasure! Quick question, how long has this project taken to develop thus far? :slight_smile:

Of course! technically 3 years on evenings and weekends, however, in reality, it’s more like 1.5 to 2 years of actual work during evenings and weekends. There was a gap of a few months a year in when I felt a bit down because my hard drive crashed and my apartment flooded, I had to restart most the project. That’s when I learned the most important lesson of game development – always back things up, haha!"