Advice please: facial tracking to drive the animation response

hi - I’m an artist in research mode, interested in the potential of UE. I wish to use the facial tracking data of a viewer that stands in front of a screen. I want to use that data to control/trigger the pre-set responses of an animated character.

Basically: if the viewer looks at the character, the character responds one way, if the user looks away, the avatar responds another way. (The viewer would need to be about 3 feet away from the camera, so eye tracking is not possible.)

Q: Are there facial tracking plug-ins/packages for use in UE?
Q: can these be used to target and trigger event sequences of animation for a UE character?
Q: can this work as a published gaming file on a Mac or PC?

thank you!
fuelafire

You could place a huge gyroscope tracking device on the player’s forehead that sends the rotation and accelerometer linear movement sorta like the iphone or occulus. There is also a kinect plugin released for ue4. You could utilize opencv and the many tracking solutions out there and there are other ways to do it either with shadows, normal map conversion, with geometry reconstruction or the difference in pixels over a set number of frames. If u check the difference in size between the two halves of a persons face itll probably work to determine which way they’re looking. The first suggestion is the easier choice.

a huge gyroscope… uh huh. thanks. Maybe I could tape a map over their face, too.

I was thinking more along the lines of what’s available in Brekel or FaceShift.