Advice Needed Regarding Final Year University Project

Hello! Im new to these forums, I dont generally post in forums at all.

A bit of background about me:

I am a computer science student pursuing a career in game development. I have had interest since the age of 12, at that age I was playing around with flash making small games. I have just finished my industry placement year as a software engineer at a cooperate contracting company. I will now be heading back to university to finish my final year and hopefully obtain a good graded degree in computer science.

My final year project:

For my final year project I plan on making a networked game, hopefully using UE4 and various methodologies and experience’s I have picked up from my work placement. I plan to implement most of it in C++ as it would be easier to explain to my professor as well as show that im not just dragging and dropping.

What I require advise for:

So well first up, how do you develop? What do you follow waterfall? Agile? At my work placement we used Scrum I was hoping I could apply some concepts of this to the way I work even though I will be the only developer.

Second, is test driven development recommend? I really liked doing this at my work placement as it helped insure everything was atleast moderately tested before release, what are your thoughts?

How to even do unit and integration testing? What frameworks should I be looking at ? Is there anything similar to JUnit or ScalaTest? As well as is there anything such as Mockito to mock the server for integration tests?

How would you recommend I approach the networking, bear in mind anyway I implement networking I have to fully understand it as I will have to explain how it works to my professor and why I think it is optimal. I would much rather like to implement my own solution (as in I don’t want to just modify some option which just “turns on” networking).