advice for me and my son please! :)

Hey internet people!

I have little knowledge about computers and all the stuff you guys love… but i need to find out stuff - my kid wants a computer capable of running and creating stuff on unreal, but Im totally skint and can’t spend thousands on a computer that a 12 will possibly get bored of, or find too difficult to use!

so…

–do you guys think a 12 year old is capable of using this software? or capable of learning, or is this too advanced?
–whats the cheapest way to get a computer !? - is there a basic spec? I’m struggling looking at computer specs and understanding the different bits and bobs!
how little do you reckon I could spend but still be able to use unreal? or is it a stupid question?

Thanks for any advice!

ps. I don’t wanna buy a crappy laptop that can only do emails :slight_smile:

Since UE4 is free, there’s no loss in letting them mess with it even if it’s difficult for them.
As for computers, it really depends on your budget. Usually a desktop would be the best value for your money but it isn’t portable.

You could get a computer capable of running Unreal 4 just fine for about 600-800$. It kind of depends on a few things.

The system requirements for UE4 are as such:

Desktop PC or Mac.
Windows 7 64-bit or Mac OS X 10.9.2 or later.
Quad-core Intel or AMD processor, 2.5 GHz or faster.
NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher.
8 GB RAM.