Advice for designing Construction Toy style game?

(Apologies, I wrote this whole post but it doesn’t seem to actually worked. So I’m typing the whole thing out again, please delete if the previous one appears).

Howdy, I’m a Blender artist and I’ve been playing around with the the idea of creating a game based on classic Construction Toys. But I’m unsure what the best method for creating the interlocking elements meshes is. So I’ve made a few examples to help visualize my ideas. Sorry in advance since I haven’t actually created a game before my vernacular may be a bit off:

So the first big question, is this a reasonable endeavor to begin with? I was thinking that a Line of Depth could be used to make it so that lower poly briks would be displayed the further they are from the camera. Levels won’t be made ENTIRELY out of these, instead vehicles, and destructible building sections could be made using a bunch of different elements like this 2x4 Brik. I’ve thought of a few ideas for how the performance of game with these might be improved, but since, again, I haven’t made a game before I could just be spouting nonsense with this post:

In this idea, each face of an element would be hidden depending on the camera angle. Here you can see that the Red, Blue, and Yellow sides are visible, whereas the others are not.

In this idea here, each Stud would be a separate piece of geometry, and only the ones that are visible would be displayed. Like so:

As you can see, the Blue studs are hidden underneath the second Brik, so could these be hidden in game completely to improve performance of lots of connected bricks?

The Unreal Engine 4 game “Brick Rigs” uses a lot of construction brick pieces to make custom vehicles that can be smashed apart, so I would like to think this idea can work. What do you guys think? How should I design the plastic elements for this game idea?

Update 5-19-17: So after searching around, I deduced that I was majorly over complicating things.