Adding text popups when interacting with objects

Use a “box trigger” around the boat and make it as large as you would like the player to be able to interact with it. Then in your level blueprint, create the widget that has the pop up text you desire, add it to the viewport and then hide it. Create an overlap event for the box trigger in your level blueprint that goes something like this:

1. on overlap → cast to player → successful? then set widget visibility to “visible”
  2. on end overlap → cast to player → successful? then set widget visibility to “hidden”

Hi, total newbie here, I am making an exploration game and the concept is that my character wakes up in a strange land , there will be a boat next to my character , I want the text to popup when my character goes near it and then disappear when she goes away. I checked online tutorials but all shows either to use the mouse interaction popups and text that appear when the game starts .Please tell me a solution for this .

Thanks

So like this.

Yea except personally I don’t like “creating” and “removing” widgets. I find it inefficient for something this simple. I prefer to actually create the widget in the level or character depending on it’s eventual use and then simply toggle it’s visibility. It lets you be more versatile with the text as well you can use it for other things and change the text, I’ve used widgets like this as a pop up HUD for a computer AI that talks to the player and then repurpose it to be a pop up for an interactable object without needing to “create” 2 separate widgets. But that’s my personal preference.

Thank you very much , I will try this out and let you know if I run into any errors !

Haha no problem. Right click on the output pin after you create the widget and promote it to a variable. That set widget is a custom variable. Then you can use that for the get widget node