actor (sphere) disappears after being shot

I’m a complete newbie to Unreal Engine and I’m still teaching myself via tutorials and the documentation. I have a sphere using gravity which you can see drops at the start of the level. I can shoot the ball and it reacts to the shots, but many times I’ll shoot it and it will fly off very fast and I no longer see it. The windows (I’ve checked) are solid, so I don’t know where it could be going. Of posts I’ve read, I’ve seen suggestions objects can be auto destroyed if they’re below a particular placement on the map, I’m just stumped here, any pointers would be much appreciated. I have video but can’t share as I’m new. To describe it, I shoot the sphere, it rolls around, I shoot again and it flies upward and disappears but I have no idea where it’s gone or if it has been destroyed.

1 Like

Either decrease the strength of the shot or increase the mass of the ball.

To debug where the ball is going, print the position of the ball to the screen.

1 Like

thanks so much for the suggestion - I thought I’d already tried changing the mass of the sphere.
I set it to around 700kg and now it seems to be responding as it should. Next challenge is to stop it from going through the couch, I’ll see if I can figure that out myself.

Thanks again , very much appreciated :slight_smile:

You can have a look here if physically simulated bodies whose mass differs by orders of magnitude interpenetrate incorrectly:

Perhaps that’s of some use.

1 Like

thanks for the suggestion - I’ve had a quick look and doesn’t seem to solve the issue.