Accessing non-character Actor in widget blueprintnfor event driven UI

So I am new to Unreal Engine 4 and was reading this in the documentation:

https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-US/...dUI/index.html

And basically I like the event driven UI system. My only problem is that in the tutorial (and pretty much every example online) only covers how to do this with the Get Player Character node. What if I want to receive events from a non-global, non-character object in my game? How would I access that in the widget blueprint? So say I have a BP which is derived from a C++ class and I have declared a delegate which I want my widget blueprint to bind to. The problem is, I have no way to access this BP in my widget blueprint. How could I solve this? Thanks!

Do it through your player character usually every widget you use is somehow connected to your character in one way or another, first I suggest to you to have the main widget of hud(all of your widgets should go in it) in your Player Controller, through it you can get the controlled player be using Get Controlled Pawn and doing a cast of your Player Character. From there you create the hud save it as a variable and give him your Player Character. Now when you need to lets say make a widget appear you through your player call for your PlayerController->Hud->Widget-> Set to Hidden false, something like that and if you want to do changes to the player through some widget you already have the player reference in the Hud and that how you create a simple two way hierarchy. Good luck.