Accessing Game Instance Variables via other BPs

Hello,

I am relatively new to using Unreal as an editor, I have been using blue prints, and I seem to be running into an issue when it comes to accessing variables.

I have a Blue Print interface that I use for my in world computer, one of the quests I have is to search for something on the computer. I have all this working, once the right search term has been used i currently have it set up to store true in the game instance, this is so that if the player returns to the computer to use this keyword again it will skip the content for that quest.

The searching, setting etc is all fine and this works great when accessing the tablet in another level. However it seems that once I have set this variable in the game instance, unless its a player/actor i cannot access this variable at all (from what i could get by poking around).

The quest system for reference is: https://youtu.be/vYL1cjOZKGQ?si=Gska3d7Oigu22fLK

it uses Blue Prints Class and Child Classes to store quests and their objectives. His examples quests are of arriving in a location or switching on a lamp, i thought i could use the code for switching on the lamp but use this global variable instead but it seems when i cast to game instance, it complains about needing an object, and i cannot provide it anything it needs as its not attached to the player or a level directly.

So my question is how do you make a child BP Class access and read the game instance data and if not what can it access and how do i save data there?

Any ideas or help would be appricated.

Regards
Bobby

Hello, and welcome to the forum.
To access the GameInstance which you configure inside the Project Maps&Modes panel, you call the GameInstance usually on Event BeginPlay and also set a reference for it.

A child BP / Blueprint can access the GameInstance by calling it, i.e. Cast to MyGameInstance then get VariableX value.