Accessing a bool from another blueprint class

I’m trying to spawn a character that the player chooses in a different level from a game mode menu. I am able to spawn one character, but no matter what character is chosen it spawns in the same spot. I decided to try to have the buttons in the game mode menu set a bool to either true if one character is chosen or false if the other is chosen. However, each time I try to call this bool in my sidescrollergamemode BP I keep getting an error. I’m VERY new to Unreal, so any help is appreciated. The following is my sidescrollergamemode BP and the GameModeMenu BP:

How did you get the Not Human bool that’s causing an error in your game mode? It’s not a variable that’s present in your game mode, so it’s normal that you are getting an error.

Did you drag and drop it from your menu BP into your game mode BP? You can’t do that, and the result is that it’s trying to find the variable but it can’t because it defaults to “self” (the game mode BP) as the target.

When you use Open Level, all blueprints (except Game Instance) and actors are destroyed and then re-created once the level finishes loading, but none of the values carry over. The only way to carry over data from a previous level is to store it in the game instance (or a save file but that is more complex), which I see you’re already doing for something else.

You should have the “Not Human” variable in your game instance instead of your menu, and change it in the game instance from your menu, then fetch it from the game instance in your game mode.

Thank you I did just as you said and put a bool isHuman into the game instance blueprint. Everything looks good and no errors, but it’s still not doing as it should. It just spawns the character on the monkey side of the battle area no matter which character button I clicked first. Here are the screen shots of my updated blueprints.

It looks fine, not sure why it’s not working.