Access the AI MoveTo function but with C++

Hey guys,

I’m studying AI tutorials to find out how to simply move an NPC or AI character towards a location (or other actor). So far I’ve seen lots of Blueprint tutorials that simply use the “AI MoveTo” node in order to move their characters. I’m attempting to do this in C++, but I can’t figure out what the correct syntax (headers and functions) I need to access in order to use the equivalent “MoveTo” function.

I currently have an NPC Actor with an attached script derived from the UActorComponent. Is it possible to access or “possess” the AI for this NPC character in order to use the AI MoveTo function?

What header files do I need, and what syntax/functions will set up the C++ script to access these AI functions?

Thanks for any info.

1 Like

Update:

So I made an over-arching AIController C++ script called “MyAIController2”. In my NPC’s character Blueprint, I set the “AI Controller Class” option to be using my “MyAIController2” script.

Then from a separate script on the same NPC character, I’m trying to reference the AI Controller script instance, and call the MoveToActor function from it.

Am I referencing/casting the MyAIController2 script properly from my other script? Here is what I have:

AMyAIController2 * AIInstance1 =
    Cast<AMyAIController2>(thisCharacter);

AIInstance1->MoveTowardsActor(mainCharacterActor->GetOwner());

Here is my “MyAIController2” script:

#include "MyAIController2.h"
#include "GameFramework/CharacterMovementComponent.h"
#include "Runtime/Engine/Classes/AI/Navigation/NavigationData.h"
#include "Runtime/Engine/Classes/AI/Navigation/NavigationSystem.h"

/*AMyAIController2::AMyAIController2(const FObjectInitializer& ObjectInitializer) : Super (ObjectInitializer)
{
 UNavigationSystem * NavSys = GetWorld()->GetNavigationSystem();
 Filter1 = UNavigationQueryFilter::GetQueryFilter(*NavSys->MainNavData, DefaultNavigationFilterClass);