Abstract Blueprints Possible?

Is it possible to have abstract class blueprints? Can’t seem to find much on implementing abstract classes and methods in blueprints. How do I make one (if possible) and how do I got about creating abstract methods in blueprints?

I haven’t found a way to do this directly…

My workaround so far is creating an interface, adding this to the parent and then implementing them in the child where I want a different functionality.

It works just fine though it does feel like a bit of a dirty hack.

The more I think about it the less it seems like abstract blueprints aren’t really intended to be made for the simple fact that you would only make an abstract class to be extended from and not instantiated. Blueprints seem like something you would make only for something that would be instanced in the game, though honestly I’m still new to the Blueprint system myself and would really like to know more about translating my existing OOP skills to Blueprint and UE4 C++.

That would be the prefabs system from cry. Blueprints are capable of working independently and are supposed to work seamlessly with c++.

So abstract functions are kinda necessary especially in an event heavy environment.

In that case, does anyone now how to directly implement them? This is kind of a big deal.

Hello DesertEagle_PWN,

There is not a way currently to have a blueprint that is not in some way, shape, or form instantiated. I hope that this answers your question. You could try Erasio’s workaround, this should give you similar functionality.

Make it a great day

Welp, good to have an official answer, is there any chance that this is something we may see in the future? I really appreciate the simplicity of Blueprint, but abstract classes are something that I need fairly frequently.

Edit for spelling.

This might be dirty, but I used a normal Character-blueprint and derived the other classes from it.