A workflow for Rigging my characters (no more mixamo)

Hi Everyone, this is just a little thread asking for information.
With the dropped UE4 Mixamo support, some non artists developers lose our workflow for rigging characters.
As a developer I preferably don’t want to mess with this things unless I really must to. Well at this time i think I must re build my character creation workflow for keep the working on my prototypes/games.
So, what are the options?

-I obviously can learn to rig my characters for my self (the long path)
Probably horrible results at first but improving over time. But this process could be very long considering I need to do everything else in the game =)

-I can pay an artist (not money for this, at least while I am a hobbyist)

-I can rig the character with mixamo autorig and then re-target in engine or//and in blender/max/modo (?)
with this last option, the problem is that I, as a non artist, I dont know all the available options that could safe a lot of my time.
What should work and what not. Sure I can start the process and experimenting with all the options, but could be a huge time saver have some recommendations.

I am interested in some characters generators like DAZ3D or others, but those are useless until I create a good workflow from the character creation to get it functional inside Unreal Engine.

So,
-How did you guys modify your workflow if you are in a similar situation than me?
-If you are an experienced artist, some recommendations could be very welcome.

Thanks!

Edit: I am sorry, this probably should be in Content creation sub forums

I use Maya 2016, and here’s a pretty solid way to do it if you have previous characters that are already rigged in ue4 beforehand. This is pretty easy, and generally only takes me like 5-10 minutes per character. Theoretically this will work with pretty much anything, daz, make human, etc, so long as the initial model is un-rigged and or aligned.