A more flexible animation system

Something that I have struggled with, and the forums show that I’m definitely not alone, is animations tied to a specific skeleton. I’d like to say that I’m an indie developer, but more realistically I’m a hobbyist with delusions of grandeur who is still learning the system. I work alone, so I don’t have an artist (nor could I afford one). I get my models from Turbosquid, CGTrader, Sketchfab etc. Not surprisingly, every single one has a slightly different skeleton, and none of them (with very, very few exceptions) are rigged to the Epic mannequin. The system in Unity is similar to the one in UE4, but everything is mapped to a common humanoid avatar, skeletons and animations, meaning that I could use any skeletal mesh with any animation. I don’t doubt that it’s not as performant as the one in UE4, but when you are still blocking things out in your project, the Unity system works very well.

Therefore, would it be possible to include a system like this in UE5, and give the users the option to use it or the existing one, depending on their required level of performance? I much prefer to use UE4, but the process is so frustrating, particularly for someone like me who is new to the engine. Thanks for your consideration.

This sounds like a textbook case for animation retargeting. Is there any reason why that doesn’t work for you?

I have never gotten a successful retargeting, something is always wonkey. Aside from that, I would have to retarget all of the different skeletons, and each of them would require its own copy of each animation. For people like me, who are just starting, that feels unreasonably cumbersome and is a major source of frustration. The humanoid rig already exists, and the skeletons can use it, so why not the animations so that both have the same deniminator? Please keep in mind that I am looking at this as a complete beginner, so in that regard, I do not find UE4 welcoming for noobs like me.