A few questions about licenses

Hi, I’m an IT tech working for a public school and I have been ask to register for the UDK Engine. After looking at the docs I still have a few questions.

1- If we have, for example, around 160 computers dedicate to these classes can we ask for 200 licenses for teachers, IT tech, etc. computers?
2- How are the licenses working? Is it a serial number that we have to type that register the computer on your server for example.
3- What happen if we have to reinstall a crash computer?
4- The student’s part is not clear. Do we have to give licenses to students or can they get them themselves?
5- I need to do a silent install of the Unreal UDK using our ZENworks engine. With the free version it’s now possible. But is it also possible to do that with this version?

Is it possible to get a rush answer? :slight_smile: A few teachers are waiting on me for their courses.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Hi, I am also looking answers to Gbouchers 1-3 questions.

Thanks!

1. I think you get a key and with that you can just re-install it. Or probably you can register different accounts which gets activated with the keys -> like you have payed for the engine. Then you could install it on every computer you like + reinstall it several times (but actually those are just some guesses) :slight_smile:

2. you have to give them to the students, because you as a teacher have to contact epic games

“Your students enrolled in accredited video game development, computer science, art, architecture, simulation, and visualization programs may also use subscription codes obtained through your school to carry on personal development projects and release them commercially.” https://www.unrealengine/faq#education

?v=5PoZx3sVDtI&list=UUBobmJyzsJ6Ll7UbfhI4iwQ (41:22 min)

Here you can get more information: https://www.unrealengine/education