Download

A few general questions from beginner.

Hello, I am Ubernoob!

Like many gamers, for years I have thought about someday being a game designer.

I am a musician, and creative thinker, with VERY minimal design/programming background.

Years ago I took courses in Flash, and Photoshop, as well as a few other programs, and was quite talented at them.

I also did some Skyrim modding a few years ago. Mostly player housing/decorating, but also a bit of everything.

I remember making functional followers with minor voice acting/AI required LOTS of tutorial time lol.

It seems like Idie games in UE4 is something I could do! :smiley:

Question 1

What are the chances that I could make somewhat complicated games, (a.k.a. not flappy birds) without learning c++ ahead if time?

I’m assuming after a while of using pre-made codes/tutorials, and tinkering with them, some of it will just stick.

I would rather not spend a million hours just memorizing a whole new language before I even begin.

Question 2

What are the available options for pre-made codes, and can you get away with mixing them?

Obviously for SUPER simple games, you can have fun with the starter templates.

But for example in a top down, Gauntlet style game, if I want to see equip armor and weapons on charcters.

Could I maybe just add one pre-made code on top of another, fill in blanks, link a few things together, and bam?

Is that sort of thing simple, or super complex?

Question 3
What programs should I get?

Photoshop for skins/2D art?

Flash for menus and cut-scenes?

Well, thank you for reading!

I just got the program today, and barely looked at it.

A few days ago I got Unity 5, and was already through a few hours of tutorials when I decided to check out UE4.

After then reading much debate about what was better, I decided on UE4.

It seemed like for beginners either program is fine, but the hope here is that I become advanced some day.