8 Way Direction

I have been looking for a great, simple and easy UE5 tutorial on how to make a 8 Way Direction locomotion BP system for my UE5 mannequins. But till now either the tutorial is jumping over essential steps, way too fast and pure explained. Or my character behaves way different from the end result.

So I was hoping that some one in here cut point me in the right direction? - Thanks

Hey @NecXoo!

Can you explain what you mean by 8-way direction? Do you mean only being able to move 8 ways as opposed to 360 degrees? Is this an arena fighter, with the camera on the side?

I don’t know that anyone can really help without a little more description, and try to bring some screenshots if you’re working in Blueprint, or a code block if it’s C++!

We will be much more able to help if you can bring us more! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Well, I am new to this so :slight_smile: But from that I have seen on youtube its call 8way locomotion direction (Blueprint): Forward, strafe L and R, 45degress forward walk L and R. And Backward, run, crouch and sprint etc in same manner - Hope it helps :slight_smile:

Awesome! I totally get what you’re talking about now. Would you like to post a video or screenshots of your code so we can possibly see where the issue is? Just make sure we can see the text on the code blocks!

If you can only post 1 screenshot per post still, go ahead and make a few posts! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am going to try something new - here, if that dont work sure I love to. Thanks again

Awesome @NecXoo! Give it a shot and let us know, will be keeping your post bookmarked in case you do still need assistance!

1 Like

Well, it tried once again to follow a tutorial to the letter - I believe. But i still ran into the same issues as before. This Is the tutorial:
B5:B12 - Character Movement Blueprint (All In One) | UE5 Blueprint For Beginners | AIP - YouTube